filmworks xxiv: the nobel prize winner (2010)

Track Listing  

1. The Nobel Prize Winner. 4:15 
2. Writer's Block (Ilse's Theme). 4:17 
3. The Depraved City. 5:10 
4. Annabel. 3:31 
5. Our In-House Dostoevsky. 4:38 
6. The Search. 1:56 
7. Dénouement. 3:25 
8. Door To Door. 5:04 
9. Suicidal Tendency. 1:57 
10. Fyodor And Annabel. 5:10 
11. Plagiarism. 2:53 
12. Moral And Immoral (Take 1). 3:08 
13. Ghost Of A Guilty Conscience. 4:40 
14. Joachim West. 5:02 
15. Moral And Immoral (Take 2). 3:06


Rob Burger: Piano 
Trevor Dunn: Bass 
Kenny Wollesen: Drums, Vibraphone


All Music Composed, Arranged and Conducted by John Zorn  
Produced by John Zorn  
Associate Producer:  Kazunori Sugiyama  
Recorded and Mixed March-April 2010 by Marc Urselli at Eastside Sound, NYC 
Mastering by Scott Hull  
All photos courtesy of the director (used by permission)
Design by Chippy (Heung-Heung Chin)  

TZADIK Blurb  

Called in at the last minute to score this bizarre and fascinating black comedy out of the Netherlands, Zorn responded to the stark black and white cinematography by turning in this intimate and moody score for piano trio. Brilliantly performed by Rob Burger, the fabulous pianist from Alhambra Love Songs, along with the dynamic rhythm section of Trevor Dunn and Kenny Wollesen, they capture the mood beautifully, bringing a subtle depth to Zorn's lyrical and evocative compositions. Touching upon Debussy, Glass, Guaraldi and Satie, this is a fabulously enjoyable installment of the popular FilmWorks series!

Series:  FilmworksArchival Series  

Catalogue Number:  TZ7385 

Release Date:  August 2010